A place where miracles happen

11 days ago I returned home from a 3 and a half month trip to South Asia that took me to three different countries–Nepal, India, and Sri Lanka.

Colombo, Sri Lanka

A view from my hotel of Delhi, India

The spectacular Jama Masjid, India's largest mosque

Marina Beach, Chennai. India's Tamil Nadu Province

Waves crashing against Marina Beach

One of Chennai's largest Islamic Centers

The Himalayas rising above Pokhara, Nepal

View from the lake in Pokhara

A temple in Kathmandu

Thai Temple in Lumbini, Buddha's birthplace

In spite of all the trouble that this region of the world faces–poverty, hunger, armed conflict–I say that miracles happen here because it changed my outlook on life and introduced me to the most amazing experience I have ever had. I’ll let the photos explain.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “A place where miracles happen”

  1. JG Says:

    Fantastic, Corey. Good to hear it was such a great experience!

  2. Corey Hunt Says:

    Thanks JG, it was definitely the best experience I have ever had. I wonder where I will go next..

  3. MK Says:

    Sounds like a heck of a trip. Some nice pictures you got there.

  4. Corey Hunt Says:

    Thanks MK…I have quite a lot of photos actually, I might have to make a new post.

  5. Jeffrey -- New York Says:

    I know I’m late here, but thanks, C.H., for the photos. One thing I know from having lived and traveled in other countries is that Friedman overstates the “flat-world” idea. As you’ve learned, I imagine, each of those places you visitied has its own unique culture (not to mention subcultures) that may have economic ties with other countries but whose culture, in my opinion, will never be globalized beyond recognition (destroyed). You may disagree, of course, but that’s how I see it. A Starbuck’s in Shanghai, for example, does not mean that the Chinese people are suddenly “globalized.”

    *

  6. Corey Hunt Says:

    Jeffrey,

    You’re welcome, I’m really glad you liked them! Each country had its own sense of amazement…I still don’t know which was my favorite because they all had so much to offer. I observed a lot in India…things are changing–businesses are opening up, people are becoming more wealthy, and some are becoming more secular. I had a steak in a Delhi hotel, actually. However, I think Indian culture will continue to flourish…probably even more, because now that India is on the world stage, more people are learning about it. Indeed, the world would be an extremely boring place if all of its cultures blended together. Indians, Nepalis, and Sri Lankans are extremely proud of what their societies have to offer, from what I saw.

Leave a Reply

